You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it might be thought that people can’t do anything but governments and some organizations can make a positive effect on the environment. In my opinion, governments or large companies just partly contribute to save the earth. Each of us should coöperate with them to make a difference.

On one hand, it seems to be true that governments and organizations can draw people attention to care more about their living environment. There are now more and more campaigns, activities that help the environment. These campaigns, however, are spontaneous, not widely known and don’t have firm sources of investment. They soon end up and don’t have much influence on this global issue. With governments’ support, people can pay more attention to the earth. Also, activities saving the environment can last long with organisations sponsorship. For instance, In some Europe and America country, government and local authorities have brought in law to improve the environment. Some non-profit organizations also take steps to attract attention from press.

On the other hand, the government can’t make our life better without citizens help and coöperation. This is our environment, our planet. This is where we live, work and play. Individuals perhaps can do nothing to improve environment. But if we unite, together we can not only put an end to pollution but also save our planet. For example, in Vietnam, youngsters initiated an activity called “Challenge for Change”. Its aim is to clean up the area that is polluted and take pictures before and after cleaning. This challenge is not only popular inside but also outside the country. Now, more and more foreigners know and support this challenge.

To conclude, saving our environment need the coöperation between people and government. It seems to me that government should enact more practical laws to protect the earth. Also, people should help them with this issue.