You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is undeniable that there are many benefits when people watch many kind of advertisements. First of all, some good items can make our lives better.

For instance, women had to do the laundry with their hands in the past. Also, it took a longer time and caused physical burden. However, As improving technology, new laundry machine was invented and the company which made the machine advertised people to buy this one. As a result, most of women finally could feel free of household and it became a first step to enter the economic society. Secondly, some public advertisement can help people. For example, there was a flood in Indonesia. so government alarmed people to collect money. it make a success.

Nevertheless, in my opinion, I believed that there are more disadvantages for commercial advertisements. It is clear that it is impact on people instinct in a negative way. For illustrate, I have some experiences that I bought something even though I did not need it. When I was waiting for my friend, I decided to just browse in department store. However, I saw the advertise of a lady’s clothing store which posted grand sale and I bought a dress in the store which I did not need at all. this phenomenon can affect as younger as people are. Moreover, advertisements for commercial does not always show the truth. According to BBC, 500 companies broke the advertisement laws with over advertisements last year.

In conclusion, it is true that an advertisement is essential for us in modern society. I suggest that we have to distinguish what we really need or not and companies should aware of themselves how much impact they have and tell the only truth with their advertisement.