Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages.

Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

The demeanors of same-age friends have been affecting the young generation and causing peer pressure. Several perspectives argue that peer pressure plays an important role in fostering determination and dedication in working and studying for young students, whereas others think differently. While it is true to some extent, I reckon that the potential disadvantages can outweigh the advantages.

Peer pressure can be considered as inspiration for young people in studying and working. If their friends have a sense of accomplishment, it will be an encouragement for others to being achievable. To illustrate, a group of adolescents long for getting higher scores in the final examination. When a friend of this group attains their desirable scores, the remaining friends will exert themselves to work hard to conquer this exam.

On the other hand, peer pressure can pose a threat to the mental wellness of several adolescents. It might cause stress and long-lasting depression for them if they feel that they are unable to reach any focused goals as their friends. For example, when a person attains their planned aims, others might forget their concentrated targets and pursue this person’s aims, meanwhile, do not reflect on their own ability and capacity. In case, if they are not attainable, it will be detrimental to their mental health.

To sum up, although peer pressure can be remarked as a kind of positive inspiration that might benefit junior students, I personally believe that it can be an adverse factor to form pessimistic cognitive thinking to young generation.