Young people who commit serious crimes, such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Juvenile delinquency has been becoming an ever-increasingly prevalent cause of concern for people around the world. Consequently, some people opine that they should be punished equally as adults. I advocate this opinion because only in this way could the retribution achieve its functions effectively.

The unfairness in punishment between children and adults negatively impacts one of the principal functions of retribution: reducing the crime rate. Harsh punishment, including long-term imprisonment or even the death penalty, works as a powerful deterrent to potential criminal offenders, leading to a lower crime rate. If the law treats teenagers differently as it does to adults, normally more leniently, the youth will be less likely to be afraid of the consequences of committing a serious crime, which promotes juvenile delinquency and raises the crime rate. A widely known example of this phenomenon is that an increasing number of juveniles are charged with rape in countries where children under a particular age shoulder no criminal responsibility. Given the listed reason and example, it is reasonable to sentence teenager offenders in the same way as adults from the perspective of reducing crime rates.

Also, compared with long-term imprisonment, a more lenient penalty might weaken the function of protecting innocent people. When a criminal has committed a severe crime, he should indeed be kept in prison for a long period in order to separate him from innocent people. This separation decreases the risk of potential offences because citizens are less likely to encounter those criminals who might re-offend. However, if teenager offenders receive lighter sentences or alternative punishment, such as community service, this kind of protection will become less effective because those criminals who have not been fully rehabilitated yet can still meet and do harm to citizens. Consequently, a lenient punishment will make it less effective in terms of protecting innocent people.

On balance, to reduce the crime rate and protect innocent people effectively, fairness in punishment is a must.