Advantages and disadvantages of Advertisement

Advertisement has taken over the major part of our TV and radio program these days that, the industries no long show variety of programs as the used to in the past. Although there are numerous benefits of advertisement such as increase in market share of products and decrease in the shopping time for buyers, there are also some pitfalls. This essay will elaborate on both point of views with final conclusion.

When a new product is introduced into the market, buyers tend to have little or no knowledge of the product. As a result, the product would find it difficult to survive the strife of the competitive market because the product has yet no substantial share in the market. With the Advertisement of the product, people tend to know more about the product and go for it. This will go a long way to increase the market share of the product. Also, if buyers try the product and discover the product is of good quality, its demand will increase over its supplements in the market. Example, An Advertisement on ovaltine can reduce the demand of Milo in the market.

Moreover, Advertisement provides more options for buyers in the sense that a buyer can make more shopping options even without wondering round the market. By so doing, the shopping time is reduced by barest minimum.

On the other hand, the market competition can have a negative influence in Advertising because when competition of the product is on the increase, sellers can spend more money to attract buyers for their low quality products. This way, people can be fooled with fake publicity.

In conclusion, while the merit and demerit of Advertising has been expatiated on the body of this essay, my opinion about Advertising is that, a governing body should be instituted to foresee and moderate Advertisement so as to curtail the disadvantages of Advertising.