Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business.

Why do you think that is?

What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

When we turn back the annals of history, we can find that art has always been given the least priority, barring a few periods, where the governing bodies, prioritized art and its various forms. This dates back even to the medieval ages, where artisans and their works were viewed as a pastime and were primarily a fancy of the upper strata of the society.

This trend of decreased attention towards art forms can be primarily attributed to a view and to an extent, a fact that art and its forms are more financially consuming, unlike its peers like science, technology and business which are financial contributors. This is because, art is still considered as a hobby or a pastime and not as a channel of intellectual development or as a essential part of our lives unlike the other aforementioned streams. Science, technology and business continue to thrive even today, because, they are not only viewed primarily as an essential part of our lives, which needs continuous attention and effort, but also are actually breadwinning avenues. Art on the other hand, is not viewed as a lucrative avenue for jobs and is more dependent on the good will of people.

However, if we time travel through human life existence, art has existed, or can even say, thrived, despite being neglected. It has actually preserved our identity and our roots. To preserve such an artefact, art and its various forms should be initially imbibed into our academic curriculum and various successful artisan’s works and their case studies must be made a subject of study in the initial stages itself. Also, society as well, should be encouraged and made aware, that art is woven into civilization’s fabric and should be preserved. Actually, the governments across the world are convening over this and are even setting up cabinets and ministers for the promotion of art. This should actually incentivise people to take more interest in arts.

Art has been in co-existence with human life, from its start, with traces of cave paintings having been discovered. Over the period of years, it has lost its sheen, due to the society, becoming more focussed towards avenues, which generate a source of income. An improved trend of appreciating art is just around the corner.