Art is considered as an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business.

Why do you think that is?

What can be done to encourage more people to take an interest in the arts?

Nowadays, art is a vital aspect of modern society as well as an expression of different cultures across the globe. Nonetheless, more and more people are referring to science, technology and business. This is because art needs more government funding and promotion in the school curriculum.

First and foremost, the authorities are insufficiently promoting arts and literature by cutting down the budget. As a result, citizens prefer to pursue their interest in fields of science, technology and business as they get better wages in these streams. However, a practical solution would be to give a significant proportion of the assets form the annual budget to support arts and literature. This can motivate the public to professionally develop a career prospect in art streams such as music, drawing and painting. For instance, the Indian government have started constructing museums and art galleries to advertise the importance of creativity among the youth and the grown-ups. Such fairs have encouraged the local artist to improve their talent in the art field, thereby giving employment opportunities.

Another prime reason is that art is discouraged in academic education. The educational board is emphasising more on subjects such as maths, science and computers since these subjects are imperative from job prospects. Nevertheless, an effective measure is to make art as a compulsory subject during school hours. Making art as a mandatory subject in school is likely to help students build creativity and enhance visual learning. For example, researchers of India have published an independent survey stating students, who are more creative and artistic, are better decision makers.

To summarise, art is an indispensable part of any culture and must be encouraged by the government and the learning institutes. This can be achieved by limiting funds from the yearly development bills and making it as a compulsion subject in learning organisations.