Children spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children

With the growth experienced in the media and introduction of several kid friendly programs, there has being an increase in the time children spent with the television. There are limitations as well as compensations for this surge which will be discussed in this essay.

Language learning is the one of the most important in the merits of children watching television. Depending on the language of interest, there are programs and recordings that can be made available for the kids. The likes of Leap frog have really great content for actual learning of alphabets, rhymes, numbers by making children dance in front of their TV sets. Also important in this category are the interactive shows on TV in recent time which are well put together to give a sense of communicating with the kids which helps build their forming minds. Furthermore, kids via TV can be exposed to contents like dancing, exploration, research, art, which could become a passion and even a career. During the outbreak of the novel corona virus and schools had to be closed, in some rural areas, government had to create television programs to reach out to school children without computers.

There is a relationship between the hours spent watching TV and rise in the numbers of obese kids and incidents of bad eye sights. Reason for this is low activity and exposure to flash imagery respectively. Importantly, parents are expected to be the most vigilant and participate the most in watching the programs with the kids because, some contents might be inappropriate depending on the values or morals. Cartoon network in the early 90’s was appropriate for children of all ages and presently, it shows contents for ages 16 and above.

In summary, the disadvantages of excessive TV viewing outweigh the advantages and as such parents or guardians are heaped with the responsibility of watching out for the kids, choosing programs and possibly regulating television time.