As Countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes

Why does this happen?

How does it affect society?

It is irrefutable that the modern world is getting smaller and smaller by the day through globalization. It is argued by some individuals that the growth of a country is promoting the smaller family trend. This essay will discuss the reason behind such fashion and its impacts on society in the following paragraphs.

The development in the countries directly affects the inflation in the market which results in a division of big family to smaller families to maintain the possibilities of survival with better amenities. In developing country like India where the nation is getting advance, most of the families are middle class and to afford the expenses while living in urban cities, people have to cut their family size to 1 or 2 kids only. For instance, back in 1990, the average family size in India was 7 members in modern cities but with the advancement, the family size has become to 3 to 4 only to fulfil the needs in metro cities like Mumbai.

Population control is the one benefit indirectly on a social level for the government. Having small families means only one or two kids of parents which decreases the total population of the nation. Another point to be considered is a smaller family means less utilization of natural resources and can benefit everyone by consuming little quantity of these precious and limited resources. In the same way, less toxic will be produced as the consumption is low.

In conclusion, inflation in the urban market convinced parents to have few kids so that their budget can be maintained, from the social point of view, it has various advantageous mentioned above.