Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using Facebook as a means of online instruction. You may compare with other tools like zoom etc. Relevant examples of your own experience can be included.

During this self-quarantine period, many teachers and students try to find the best way to teach and study online. People believe that Facebook is a means of online instruction. Nevertheless, besides the inherent advantages, Facebook also has negative aspects.

One the other hand, this social network has positive influences on online instruction. First of all, most of us use Facebook daily and have a personal account, so learners do not meet with difficulties in using and it is easy to join the activities and hand in the assigned tasks. Secondly, learners can be flexible in studying and have more time to complete the assignment. Moreover, they can easily follow the written instruction of teachers. Thirdly, Facebook also features a video-chatting tool that helps people to exchange using live video-chats.

On the other hand, Facebook still has certain restrictions. Firstly, because Facebook also has entertainment functions, it sometimes makes learners turn away from their studies. For example, while doing exercises on Facebook, there may be a series of messages, unrelated notifications such as “Ana mentioned you in a comment”, “Jack updated his status”. As a result, the study of the learners will be ineffective. Secondly, although Facebook offers a video-call service, it receives lots of criticism of the users for its slow performance. Besides, the greatest number of members joining a video meeting is only 50 members while other tools like Zoom allow 100 participants.

Although using Facebook has both good and bad sides, I believe that whether the study is effective or not depends on the way we are self-study and the way we use the means of online instruction.