Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home.

Recently, I read an article about a growing tendency in remote employment. Some freelancers state that it is beneficial for the labor market. However, some social workers argue that it has many disadvantages for society. In this essay, I will discuss both the pros and cons of this trend.

Let us start with beneficial sides of distance work. The first advantage is that it frequently allows people to spend more time with their family. Most employees, for example, complain that they waste many hours commuting to office and back home weekly, but working from home helps spare these hours for enjoying them with relatives. Another benefit is that it usually enables business owners to hire cheaper staff. Many employers tend to recruit employees with low salary expectations at the expense of inferior qualifications, but remote office helps them find cheaper job seekers with recognized certificates from poor countries. Therefore, after analyzing, it is clear that occupation out of office is advantageous for both subordinates and managers.

Nevertheless, despite these disadvantages, remote employment has a great deal of demerits. Firstly, it commonly shatters the balance between work and home. Work from home negatively affects the work discipline, because personnel are tempted to relax extra working hours instead of doing their duties, which becomes the reason for failures to meet deadlines. Secondly, it generally hinders communication in teams. Numerous colleagues face problems of interaction with each other, when they work from home, since they either miss urgent emails or are not available, which rarely happen in traditional teams. As a result, after analyzing, it is obvious that remote office has plenty downsides.

In conclusion, although some freelancers think that remote employment has many merits for the labor market, it also poses a multitude of complications.