Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial issue about the accessibility of health system. Some patients state that it should be accessible for all regardless of their financial state. This essay disagrees with their viewpoint.

Let us start with reasons why some patients think that patients should not be charged at hospitals. First of all, more people would receive medical therapy. It often happens that people, who cannot afford costly hospital treatment, die, but if the treatment were free, they would survive. Another reason is that the sick would be cured equally. Poor people would be cured as effectively as the wealth, if health care were available for all. Furthermore, fewer people would travel to other countries for high-quality medicine. People with deadly diseases would address to local health care, instead of visiting countries with highly qualified medical stuff as well as the state-of-the-art medical apparatus.

However, some doctors argue that medicine should be paid. They support this point of view by the following arguments. Firstly, free medical treatment would diminish the budget of hospitals significantly. Many health centers, which provide medicine for free, spend all their resources on patients, so they cannot install modern devices for effective treatment. Secondly, the country would not receive money from the taxation on medical service. Most governments, where medical system is unpaid, have large holes in the economy, but if medicine was paid, they would be able to increase the budget to develop other industries. Moreover, people would careless about their fitness. The number of patients would increase dramatically, if they attended hospitals freely, but with the expensive treatment, people are more likely to look after themselves more carefully.

In conclusion, even though some patients advocate the idea of free medicine, I think it is unreasonable to make it free of charge for the above mentioned reasons.