Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

Education overseas is growing in popularity. Some teachers state that it is advantageous for both students and countries, while some economists believe that it is disadvantageous for them. In this essay, I will consider both pros and cons of taking courses abroad and provide a conclusion.

Let us start with the main advantage of studying in another country for children as well as target countries. First of all, it normally allows overseas students to develop their language skills, because they can completely immerse themselves into the new environment and speak to native speakers, which is usually impossible to achieve at home. Secondly, it is an opportunity for host countries to raise additional income in education. Universities can receive extra funding, if more foreign students come to study through high tuition fees. As a result, they can cover some holes in their budget and annually increase wages for university staff as well.

However, there are some disadvantages of graduating overseas for both sides. Firstly, the major drawback for overseas students is that their academic performance often suffers from their being separated from their home. Many international students end educational years with poor academic marks, since they find it arduous to study well, while they are living with no support from their parents and friends. Consequently, they usually fail to pass some exams and, therefore, drop college. Moreover, host countries regularly have to deal with the shortage of accommodation for new comers. The better the education system is in the target country, the more overseas students desire to get a degree it. This situation frequently causes a lack of housing for new students. Therefore, the government usually has to address this problem in order to keep the flow of students growing.

To conclude, even though studying overseas has many positive effects on both students and recipient countries, it also poses a great deal of problems to them. However, I think that these problems are solvable by both sites involved.