Some people think it is always an advantage to buy local products. Do you agree or disagree?

There are some locals who are always supportive to purchase local products, because they believe it is advantageous to the local area. In my own perspective, I think this topic should be considered on both sides.

On the one hand, people who strongly support local products declare that it can boost the economic growth of their cities. Take my hometown as an example, mango is produced there and large amount of local business is established for mango products, such as food and drinks. In addition, the more local businesses are built up, the more job opportunities will be created, hence more people can earn money and afford to live a better life.

On the other hand, not all the products for people's basic needs might be produced in a local area, therefore is has to import those products from somewhere else. Additionally, with the rapid globalization, there are plenty of benefits if a local city could welcome products from outside. For instance, when we purchase products imported from outside, those merchants are making contributions to the tax revenue and they would continue to recruit more local residents if their businesses are growing larger. Moreover, government can encourage locals to learn those technologies from outsiders and produce those new products by themselves. Different kinds of products or business can form a healthy competition, which is also beneficial to stimulate the local economy.

To conclude, buying local products is helpful to the local economy, whereas accepting more products from other areas is significant to boost the economic growth as well.