The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Libraries are considered as the knowledge hub since ancient time. However, as the technology overruled every aspect of human life, it also influenced the way we learn new things and share information which eventually redefined the concepts of libraries. Thus digital contents and technological facilities are widely used in public libraries globally and I quite disagree with the notion that these amenities are a waste of resources and space.

Orthodox people often argue that hi-tech libraries distract readers and cost more money. I, on the contrary believe that digital content not only provide better reading experience but also create interest in reading. For example taking a virtual tour of a historical place is far more engaging than reading a book. Similarly, it is much easier and cheaper to manage e-books, DVDs, Videos and software as only one staff can handle everything instead of multiple resources.

Moreover, digital libraries are safer to manage and require limited space. In traditional approach, books require extra care from fire, moisture and humans, as it can be destroyed easily by any of these while, CDs, DVDs can be preserved for years without any maintenance. For instance, Nalanda library in Bihar was the biggest and only place where all the Hindu sculptures, books and ancient history evidences were stored which was put on fire during a war with Mughal emperor hence destroyed all of them. Also, these resources require very little space. Like a single CD can store the content of more than hundreds of books which eventually save lot of space to save paper based books.

To conclude, the transformation of public libraries have made them more beneficial and convenient for readers and researchers as they now work as centre of interactive learning and knowledge sharing. It is expected that traditional libraries would include electronic gadgets and resource to enhance human knowledge and experience.