University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Does this have more advantages or disadvantages?

Many universities students routinely study and learn in different countries during their course tenure. Although studying abroad will help students to cope up with cultural differences, they have to pay through the nose for the same. In my opinion, students are far better off having studied in a different country despite the challenges that they will inevitably face.

Since it is the era of globalization, it is good to have cultural awareness in people. If students have exposure of different cultures, it will be better for them to work in different environment and with different people, as it has become the need of the hour because of the globalization. Nowadays, every company is becoming multinational and they keep on exchanging employees from one location to another. If people have prior experience of living abroad, it will be beneficial for them to relocate and adjust easily. Hence it is important to have foreign exposure during studies itself.

Despite being beneficial for their future, it will cost them huge money to study abroad. Because of the economy differences, it is very costly to move out of country. Loans are the only option for the parents, but it will create unnecessary pressure on the student and sometime also hamper their studies. In recent reports and news articles, education loans are becoming major cause of depression and suicide attempts in students. Therefore, cost of living and studying in to different country is a major disadvantage of moving out of the country.

Student’s preference in opting university is changing now days. They prefer foreign degree over national. I my view, sending children to other country for their university education will give them lot of exposure and learning opportunities. Which will outweighs few smaller disadvantages like managing finances.