In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In a number of countries, children work for money. Some people say that this is not proper, whereas, others believe that it is a priceless experience that teaches responsibility. In this essay, I will examine both views and then give my opinion.

On one hand, it is often thought that working as a child is exploitation because children, more often than not, do not have the courage to stand up for what they believe in especially when they are dealing with adults. So they may end up being underpaid and overworked. Furthermore, at this time of their lives, they ought to be in school, learning and picking up skills so that they can become productive members of the society.

On the other hand, children who work have an idea of the real world. For instance, they learn that value of money. They also develop business skills such as the ability to negotiate, persuade, and market goods and services. Also, working enables them to easily make informed decisions about their careers in the future.

To conclude, although I believe that children working is oftentimes the characteristics of a third world country, I know that there are some societies that permit it because they want their children to learn basic skills about business and responsibility. Based on my experience living in Nigeria, I see that child workers are always exploited and my opinion is that it should be banned and criminalized.