Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Lots of museums charge a fee while others do not. This essay thinks that the benefits of charging eclipse the drawbacks in the sense that the income will be ploughed back into operation and development of the museums.

Some people believe that having an admission fee might exclude a large proportion of the population, especially in less developed countries. Many people in poorer countries have just enough money for food and shelter which makes it impossible for them to pay for exhibitions. While this being a valid argument, this could be solved if the local community are allowed access free of charge. In Hong Kong, for instance, folk museums which preserver historic relics and display folk customs allow entrance for the locals without any charges. It also would be outrageous to make a profit out of the heritage of a community.

Granted, an entrance fee might have a negative effect on the number of visitors, but an income is favourable to museums in terms of operation. Museums spend an enormous amount of money not only in acquiring but also to maintain artefacts which majority is a process majority is inconsiderate about. Furthermore, they feature educational exhibitions to make the public aware of their cultural heritage and differences with other cultures which could not have been done without a sum of money expended on hiring professionals. For example, Sri Lankan naval museum holds monthly exhibitions on different issues and professional docents are employed to take visitors on a guided tour around the museum. This speaks volumes about how a reasonable admission charge is advantageous to the operation of a museum.

In conclusion, the disadvantageous of an admission fee are outweighed by the benefits of productive services that could be provided by an income. Therefore, I am convinced that museums should charge an entrance fee for the sake of operation and development.