Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

While some museums charge a fee to visitors, others cost nothing. this essay agrees that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks. This essay shall demonstrate that, when admissions are charged, the amount can be used for maintenance of the structure and it also helps in keeping the environment clean, followed by an analysis of how the primary disadvantage, namely, reduction in number of visitors, is invalid.

To begin with, the entry fees collected from people can be used for maintenance purposes. Every building undergoes some damages in their lifetime and needs maintenance and repair to extent their lifespan. This can be initiated by the entrance fee collected from guests. For example, the Kerala History museum in my own hometown was renovated using the fund that they obtained from people visiting the site. In addition, putting an entrance fee reduces the environmental damage caused by over population. This is because it limits the number of visitors as only relevant people who are interested in the subject comes in. For instance, the recent survey conducted by World Heritage Protection Chamber found that percentage of people visiting museums has been reduced by 40% with the introduction of admission fees in 2019.

However, it is stated that the fee system reduces the number of people visiting the site and it is a negative trend. Despite the fact that it reduces the number, it is always better to preserve a site than destroy it with over-crowded people who are never interested in the field of area and finds it as a place just to hangout with others.

In conclusion, I do support the idea that a small admission charge benefits the museums in many ways despite the drawbacks it has.