Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of people says that choosing a field of study for higher education should be left to students, whilst others argue that only those subjects relating to science and technology will benefit in future and thus decision should be restricted to these areas. I do agree with the latter statement and in this essay I shall discuss both these views and give points to support my viewpoint.

To begin with, selecting field of study related to science and technology can help students flourish in their career. This is because scientific world is progressing at a very faster pace and it is crucial that humans should outward this development in order to succeed in this competitive phase and thereby contribute to development of nation. This can be achieved by learning those subjects and hence, students should be encouraged to choose such field of study in their university. For example, to migrate to Australia we need a certain points to apply for the process and in this degree of a person plays a major role. People who have a graduate degree in fields such as science, technology, engineering and mathematics are awarded higher points as they believe such people can contribute to development of country.

However, others states that allowing a student to take self-decision on what to study in their graduate or post-graduate degree is beneficial in many ways. Such decisions make learning process more interesting and help them score better in their exams. Despite this fact, I do believe that putting a restrain on such decisions and directing them towards areas that are beneficial to them in practical life can help them succeed in life rather than concentrating on obsolete areas which does nothing good. For example, a student who has an interest in subjects like history learn about their country’s past and scores high in exam but they have very less to contribute to development of country compared to those who excel in fields related to technology.

In conclusion, although students have the privilege in choosing a subject for higher course, I do believe that making students understand the importance of subjects such as science and technology can help them prosper in their life.