Modern cultures around the world have become similar as compared to the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the past few decades, modern civilizations have become more and more similar, which is different in the past. Globalization is the main reason of this trend and it can be divided into two parts.

First of all, globalization results in high population mobility which carries a culture from one place to another. In this way multiple cultures merge together and they become alike eventually. For instance, when Asian people immigrated to United States, they brought their food cultures and living habits. Therefore, plenty of Asian towns are established, such as China Town, Japanese Town and Korean Town. Every time when Asian people arrive at those towns, they could feel as similar as returning home, since their cultures have merged into the local's.

Second of all, globalization leads to the heat of learning foreign languages, especially English as it is the widest spoken around the world. When people begin to learn a language, they start to accept every kind of cultural output in that language, such as books ,music, movies and TV programs. Cite Chinese people as an example, in the past decade, the number of Chinese people, especially younger ones who are fond of listening to English songs and watching English movies is rising dramatically. This is an evidence that Western and Eastern cultures are mixing up and they are turning more similar with each other.

As the reasons are stated above, it is an advantageous development in my opinion, since people from different cultures could get closer and build a stronger relationship when their cultures are becoming similar. In addition, people could feel more comfortable staying at a place where there a living environment like their hometown, so that they could concentrate on their works or studies more efficiently. Moreover, it is beneficial for people to gain more knowledge from a culture when they are starting to learn the language spoken in that culture.