In some countries, older people who retire from work spend the money on themselves (e.g.holiday) rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a trend in some countries that elderly people prefer spending their savings on themselves rather than leaving them for their children. In my own perspective, this phenomenon has more advantages than disadvantages.

There is no denying that parents always care about their children in every aspects, including finance. In some Eastern countries, it is kind of a tradition that parents would like to save money they earn on their daily living and keep them for their children, especially then they are old and retired. Children would make use of this fund in some significant events in their own lives such as wedding and purchasing houses. Such a big financial source could dramatically help their children improve the quality of life.

However, reserving a large number of money for their children could easily enhance their idleness in pursuing an independent life with their own effort. In China, more and more children nowadays are not willing to do their best and fight for a decent life all by themselves, since they could count on the savings from their parents. This is not a beneficial development for both the children themselves and the society.

On the other hand, with the money they save in hands, old people could enjoy a better life after retirement by purchasing whatever they want and visit wherever they like. In Western countries, a certain amount of people are willing to use their savings to travel everywhere around the country or even around the world as a reward for the busy and hard work through out their lives.

In addition, it is well known that elderly people are easier to get injuries or illnesses and it could significantly cost a huge amount of money seeing doctors, taking medicines or even having surgeries. Therefore, old people could be more confident against disease with sufficient savings for themselves.

In spite of the fact that it might be a culture for elderly people to saving money for their children in some countries, it could possibly make their children lazier to work on their own. In contrast, it has more positive effects for them to spend the money on themselves. They could enjoy a wonderful life after retirement and get better prepared for potential threat from sickness or illness.