Some people think the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe influencing children into becoming better citizens and personnel is the prime objective of schools while others argue that schools should rather assist in their personal growth. This essay agrees to the former due to the higher impact they have on young minds, and the fact that they have the best resources to perform it.

Since schools engage with students when they are very young, their minds can be influenced easily. This can be utilized into developing a good ethical and moral foundation which will result in a better society in the future. It is true that personal skill growth is important for an individual to become successful in their career, but without good ethics, knowledge can be used in harmful ways against the public. For instance, most successful drug empires, nowadays, are run by well-educated individuals who have no empathy towards humanity.

Moreover, schools have the ability and resources to improve the mindset of children. Teachers are well educated and disciplined to improve not only the skills but also the perspectives of young minds upon humanity. Alleviated mental state of communities results in a well built, strong-minded society that always have an upper hand in a better future. Quality of life can be expected when social issues such as the rate of crimes or racial discriminations disappear, which will lower the tax rates while increasing mental health. The lower tax and crime rates will attract businesses to move into the cities, improving more job opportunities.

In conclusion, schools have the opportunity as well as the ability to reconstruct the minds of the students. Therefore, their main goal should be to make better citizens and workers instead of building individual skills.