Most employers do job interviews before offering a position to a person Do you think this is the best way to choose an employee or are there better alternatives What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion

The most of common and widely accepted method of hiring employees is job interviews. However, I believe that there are some better alternative methods for assessing a candidate for the job and a written test is one of them. In my opinion, candidates should be evaluated based on their performance in the written tests as well as the interview for a job.

Employers should not select or reject a candidate on the basis of the interview, which is merely a conversation of a few minutes. It is also concluded by a survey that most of the intelligent people are introverts / tend to be introverts and may not be able to perform better in interviews because of nervousness, although their performance in jobs are commendable. Therefore, to find an efficient employee, employers should conduct written test to evaluate aptitude and reasoning abilities as well as the technical proficiency. For instance, some departments of the government of Gujarat have eradicated the interview process and now they are selecting the employees based on the written tests only. For these reasons, employers should implement written tests or such other alternatives for choosing employees.

However, in a few jobs, it is necessary to have excellent communication skills. Hence, interviews are essential to evaluate these skills and also the overall personality of a person. For example, most of the jobs involve the direct interaction with team members and clients and thus employees in those jobs need to have strong communication skills and good personality. Moreover, employers can check the authenticity of the details mentioned in candidate’s CV during interviews. Therefore, it goes without saying that interview along with a written test is the best method of hiring employees and employers should consider the performance of a candidate in both parts while selecting an employee.

In conclusion, employers should not stick to interviews alone for the hiring process. Instead, they should look for other alternatives such as comprehensive written exams. In my opinion, the hiring process which involves interviews as well as written tests is the most effective as it deals with all the essential aspects required in a perfect employee.