The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is true that more and more people spend less time on gathering with their family at meals. The essay will explain the reasons for the trend and its negatives surround.

The missing out of together meals in households could attribute to two reasons. First, people have to work so hard to make their living and fit the hard-working culture of many businesses. For example, it is common in Japan as workers may have to work up to eighty hours a week to prove their outstanding work ethic; otherwise, they would be fired or verbally warned by the managers. As a result, people hardly spend time eating with their family due to the overwhelming of work. Second, when people have become workaholic, they prefer to live alone in an apartment so that they can continue to work at home without affecting others’ schedules. Eating with family members seems possible if they live independently.

This tendency has negative impacts on people’ health and their relationships with other family members. When individuals spend most of the time at workplace, probably they will offer to eat out to save their limited time budget. Meanwhile, food outside often contain highly amount of fat and unknowingly additional seasonings, which cause bad effects for the bodies. Moreover, less time for home-cooked meals with family may break the strong bonds between family members. Without an hour sitting together to eat, parents and children lose their chance to share their stories and get to understand each other. This deters people from building balanced life with long-lasting relationships.

In conclusion, nowadays people spend less time to eat with their family mostly because of their harshly attach to work. This new lifestyle encourages them to eat more unhealthy street food and live far away from the family. As a consequence, their health and relationships go down.