Nowadays many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

In recent years there has been a considerable rise in the trend of self-employment instead of working as an employee in an organization or a company. It is thought that this increase is mainly due to the stressful working environment. However, this trend also has several drawbacks such as unpunctuality and unstable income.

One of the major reasons people prefer to be self-employed is considered as the high stress level at the working place of a firm. In other words, constant pressure of deadlines in a company affects the lives of such individuals, both socially and physically. Due to which some employees change their mind and starts working independently. For example, a recent survey done by the students of Oxford University stated that in Pakistan, approximately 10% employees quit their employment and become self-employed due to poor social life which resulted from stressed out a work routine in an organization .

There are also many negative aspects of self-employment. Firstly, self-employed persons become unpunctual. As, such people have no one to report to so they start to procrastinate thing which ultimately makes them unpunctual. In addition to that, there is also an instability in the flow of income of such individuals which is mainly due to the fluctuation in the sales. For instance, a journal produced by Times Magazine stated that in the start of 2019, when a new program was launched in the IT industry, software freelancer’s earning falls dramatically up-to 30% because of the low demand of their services.

In conclusion, many people consider being self- employed in recent times because of the tough work routine in a company, despite of the disadvantages which it brings like unpunctual life and instability of income.