Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is becoming a trend for people to stray away from the idea of working for a company or co-operation and preferring to work as independent bodies. This might be due to a variety of factors, the stress from the employers, and the high competition for securing a position at the company. While being self-employed has its merits, one can not ignore the downsides such as the initial struggle to start the business and the high risks involved in its future.

It is becoming a routine for people to choose to work for themselves instead of organizations. This occurs due to the various difficulties at the employee-employer level where usually the employee commonly suffers from the stress imposed by the employers on completing a task or not being up to the mark. Moreover, there is an ever-increasing demand for jobs at various skill levels which creates competition among the candidates, and chances are that certain qualified candidates are over-looked and lose their chance to join. Furthermore the employees can take advantage of the situation and offer lower pay-cheques which would further develop inconvenience to the fresh candidate as the scalability of the job may be less. For instance, IBM, an enormous I.T company, yearly holds an interview for over one thousand candidates and chooses only five with minimum wage.

On the other hand, being self-served is not always proven to be a success and may involve downsides. Being self-employed requires initiating a new business idea and execution of that idea, while this is a crucial step, it requires a clear road-map of the business in order to be successful. Therefore, the person may struggle to execute the ideas. Moreover, self-employment brings more responsibilities to the table as one has to manage everything. It is worth mentioning the risk factors involved in working as an individual, where usually the business is owned by a single owner, and if the business does not succeed one will be held in charge of all the losses.

To conclude, more and more people decide to work for themselves and be their own boss. This is due to various reasons such a dense competition and low wages and while being self-employed is another option, it has its own risks and struggles.