Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening,

and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Many culprits indeed tend to do more crimes after their first imprisonment. While there are several reasons behind this alarming issue, Governments can implement some measures to tackle this issue.

Mainly, there are two reasons for criminals to re-offend. Firstly, the prison system can make the situation worse. The offenders are gathered in a place where there is not much to do, therefore, naturally, they start making friends with other inmates who would exchange experiences and reasons and eventually may rise to plan another crime.

Secondly, these criminals are poor which means they are uneducated, lack any skills which are basic requirements of maintaining a job. Also, people with criminal backgrounds tend to have difficulties acquiring a job.

To solve these issues, the Government must change its strategy from punishment to the rehabilitation of such individuals. This approach would not only allow the offender to learn new skills which would be useful for them to find a job but also keeps them away from other culprits and prevents negative thoughts. For instance, teaching Mechanical work, Computer programming and such practical skills can be of great help to their future post-sentence.

Another approach can be, community services. Allowing offenders to help the society and community would prevent them from being isolated with other inmates and their influence and would make them feel being a part of society again.

To conclude, the re-offense rate is increasing and it is alarming. Governments should implement better ways other than prison system punishment to rehabilitate these individuals.