The government should pay to the parents of very young children, so that one of them can stay at home and look after their children.

What do you think are the pros and cons of this policy?

Justify your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's lifestyle where usually both the parents need to work, it is proposed by some that the government has to financially support those who have new-borns. This would ease the financial burden on them and allow one of them to dedicate her full-time to caring for the baby. In this essay, I will discuss some of the merits and demerits of this proposition.

To begin with, this project would carry a hefty cost to the government. there are numerous babies born on a daily bases and if the government was to pay for every single family, it would economically cripple the nation. This is next to impossible for the nations where they have high populations. For instance, it is next to impossible for a country like India to amend such an act with a population of 1.5 billion with an annual rate of 25 million newborns. Furthermore, it provides an opportunity for some people to misuse this policy and unnecessarily get pregnant, in order to get free money, this can be observed in the nations that are not prosperous like Indonesia, where people choose this route to get more rations from the government.

However, it is has been acknowledged in recent years that the bondings in the families have weakened. Firstly, one of the main reasons for such an issue is the lack of time and attention of the parents to their children which eventually causes a lack of affection of the children towards their parents. This policy would address this issue by allowing at least one of the parents to spend quality time with their child while growing and not worrying about the financial consequences of not working. Recent research in the UK has published that the children who spent time with their parents since being born to tend to be more successful and sincere in their studies when compared to their counterparts whose parents work all the time.

To conclude, the proposition that the government should provide finance to the parents of infants, has both downsides and upsides and not all nations can afford such a policy and it may have serious drawbacks.