Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

In many nations around the world, the average sleeping hours for people are curtailed drastically. There are several negative consequences caused by this, but certain steps could be taken to improve the situation.

There are several problems caused by not having adequate sleep. The main one is that it deteriorates the physical health. It is a scientifically proven fact that our body recovers when we sleep. Lack of sleep can cause several problems including obesity, memory loss, depression and anxiety. In the worst case, it may also reduce the life expectancy of an individual. Furthermore, the impact of reduced sleeping time on the personal and professional relationships can’t be ignored. Not having enough sleep can affect our mood. We may end up being a bitter individual, which will destroy our relationships with spouse and kids. It also reduces our productivity at work, which can spoil our professional career.

Turning to possible solutions, various courses of action seem to be available to us. In the first place, one should decrease screen time. Nowadays, we spend a lot of time staring at computer and smartphone screens. According to a survey, this can cause difficulty in going to sleep. We should make some simple changes in our lifestyle, for example, not to use mobile phone after 10pm or limit our office hours. In addition to that, we should improve our diet and do regular exercise. It is undeniable fact that good food and working out helps us to fall asleep easily and get a quality sleep at night. One should avoid eating unhealthy foods such fast food, junk food, and cold-drinks. Exercises such as yoga, weight-lifting, running, and swimming can improve sleep quality.

In conclusion, inadequate sleeping hours can cause health and relationships related problems. Nevertheless, the situation could be improved by reduced screen-time usage and regular exercise. Given the situation, it is recommended to take the steps immediately to live a healthy and happy life.