Nowadays, television is an essential part of our lives, as a medium to spread news and awareness, and, for some, it even acts as a companion. What is your opinion about this?

Truly television is greatest invention and brought revolution in main stream media. I definitely agree with the statement as I myself witnessed how TV is only companion for many and especially to old age persons. Their loneliness is replaced by this magic box. From News to entertainment TV is their only window to outside world.

Earlier radios were main source of news,music and entertainment. However, invention of television by 19th century scientist J.L Baird changed scenario. Audio with moving pictures got attention of the whole world and infact it was almost a magic to modern world. Numerous companies fought for patent rights. With the advance of technology many more features were added to this equipment. An era which flourished with black and white screen soon faded with colourful monitors. Satellite channels soon occupied entertainment and information industry.

To certain aged people who are secluded from society, because of health problems TV is their only companion. Programmes specially designed to attract children and certain age groups gain popularity. We all know how crime,comedy and drama serials got attention of one entire generation. Sports and games channels also gained huge popularity from teenagers. As all good things comes to an end now a days internet and other social media occupied the places of television sets. Mobile phones and laptops replaced television sets. Advertisement companies also now showing their interest to place their Adds on social media rather than fitting them between two TV programmes.

Once radios were replaced by television sets and same is happening now to television industry. Nevertheless there are people who still enjoy listening music in radio, read morning newspaper while having coffee and watch night 9'O clock news while having dinner, which shows that Tv's and radios always have a place in our hearts.