Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The media outlets of a country are responsible for the keeping the public up to date on current events. Media outlets encompass newspapers, television news channels, radio and in today’s world, even social media falls in this category. The author posits that there is a growing trend of media reports that focuses only on problems and emergencies rather than the positive developments and that some people believe that it is harmful to individuals and to society. While I do not completely disagree with the author’s point of view, I also do not completely agree with it. There are two sides to this argument and I present them in the following paragraphs taking the United States media as an example.

The United States media is not completely free from bias. Every newspaper and television news outlet have political inclinations which drives the way in which they present the news. They are either liberal (left leaning) or conservative (right leaning) media. Some prominent examples of left leaning media are CNN, New York Times and Washington Post. Some prominent examples of right leaning media are Fox News and The Hill.

The presidency of Donald Trump has increased the divide between conservatives and liberals and every issue has become a divisive one, no matter how big or small. The liberal media present their news in such a way that they outline the fallacies of the President, the number of times he has lied to the American public, the way in which he takes political decisions which are meant to improve his businesses, to name a few. They dig up all his scandals and present them to the public. They look at how several members of his administration have failed in their basic duties and compare his term to Obama’s presidency. The only positive from Trump’s presidency so far is the growth in the number of jobs. But the number of times his administration has made mistakes or lied to the public greatly outweighs any good that the administration has done. The way in which he has treated the institution of American democracy has made the Washington Post change their slogan to “Democracy dies in darkness”.

The other side of the coin is the conservative media, who are sycophants of Trump and his presidency. They paint the Democrats in bad light as they oppose every bill that the President tries to pass. Instead of looking at the inherent problems with the current administration, they portray every small bill that is passed as a huge win for Trump. The building of the wall at the Mexican border, the caging of immigrant children, the death of the American education department under Betsy Devos, the impeachment “scam”, the delay in the Coronavirus response, to name a few, have staunch supporters in the conservative media as they often come up with tenuous excuses to shift the blame onto liberal members of the Senate. They do glorify his achievements of creation of thousands of jobs and the overall upliftment of the economy to an excessive extent, when compared to the liberal media.

Social media also plays a huge role in presenting information to the public through sites like Facebook and Twitter. However, the role of Facebook in presenting misinformation has been brought forth in Congress and its ability to create mountains out of molehills in even the smallest partisan issue has caused divisiveness in the country that has never been seen before.

President Trump will not suffer any harm from the way the liberal or the conservative media portrays him. But the ones who suffer the most are the people of the country. The way in which the media presents its news nowadays has not only incensed people but also provided a fuse to those who have extremely biased opinions to act out in public. Partisan opinions that were generally not welcome in the public has become commonplace topics nowadays. In conclusion, I would argue that partisan media presentation, like the one in the United States, does not affect the individuals involved in the news, but affects the general public and society. It is very difficult to reduce this divisiveness because we are living in unprecedented times where democracies can sometimes masquerade as dictatorships. The liberal media’s outrage at the current administration, the conservative media’s effusiveness with the progress of the administration and the amount of misinformation on social media have caused the public to take a stand on various issues based on both information and misinformation.