Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Indubitably, media give excessive coverage to negative news and overlook the positive aspects of the world. It is often argued that this emphasis on negativity has an adverse impact on society. And, I concur with this notion to some extent because no matter what will happen, the news represents the information of incidents and happenings around the globe whether it is positive or negative, it cannot be ignored. It certainly deserves attention, meanwhile, good news should also get adequate coverage.

Apparently, media houses give too much importance to stories of crime, violence, and other problems because they have a shock value. They easily capture the attention of the reader. Since the media is constantly striving to attract more eyeballs, they highlight these stories. Unfortunately, when the general public hears only about bad incidents happening around them, they develop a pessimistic attitude towards life. They start to build trust issues and begin to feel unsafe even inside their homes when they are alone. Apart from this, they lose faith in their government's security workers and start thinking that they are doomed. This is bad because the world is not a bad place.

However, the media cannot overlook bad news. Media is the voice of the public and as such it is their duty to highlight the problems plaguing society. Only then will the authorities wake up and do something to eradicate the problems troubling the citizens because of criminals. Besides, with such spreading of information, news channels can ensure to take adequate safety precautions before these issues resolve permanently. In the meanwhile, positive news should get adequate attention because it is important for newspapers and televisions to show and channels the stories of courage, fortitude, ambition, and achievements. Such stories will motivate people and encourage them to strive hard to achieve their goals.

To conclude, media should not ignore any news whether it is positive or negative. The general public should be aware of the happenings around them whether they are good or bad.