Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

OVER THE YEARS, THE HEAP OF WASTE HAS ESCALATED TO A LARGER EXTENT. THERE HAS BEEN OBSERVED TREMENDOUS INCREASE IN PRODUCTION OF GARBAGE. MANY UPCOMING TRENDS AND FASHION ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR SUCH CONTAMINATION TO THE ENVIROMENT. HOWEVER; SOME PROPER ACTIONS CAN CONTROL THIS THREAT TO OCCUR IN NEAR FUTURE.

WESTERNISATION HAS NOT ONLY INFLUENCED THE CLOTHING PATTERN BUT ALSO CHANGED THE FOOD HABITS OF PEOPLE. PACKAGED FOODS, DRINKS, VEGETABLES AND FRUITS HAVE BECOME THE LATEST TREND AMONGST THE PEOPLE. FAVORITISM FOR SUCH PRODUCTS PUTS A DIRECT FORCE ON PUBLIC TO USE AND DUMP PACKING MATERIAL SUCH AS TISSUE PAPER, PLASTIC BAGS,PLASTIC BOTTLES ETC. AS A RESULT OF THIS, THERE IS A SEVERE BOOST IN THE GARBAGE DISPOSED COLLECTIVELY.

OTHER THAN THIS, IN THE HIGHLY COMPETITIVE RACE EVERYBODY WANTS TO ACHIEVE HIGHER REWARDS IN THE UNENDING RAT RACE. DUE TO THIS, MORE AND MORE FACTORIES HAVE BEEN SETUP. PRODUCTION UNITS ARE ONE OF THE MAJOR SOURCES OF WASTE PRODUCTION. THEREFORE, INCREASE IN NUMBER OF MANUFACTURERS ARE INEVITABILY A GREAT THREAT TO THE ECOSYSTEM. ACCORDING TO A SURVEY BY NATIONAL MUNICIPAL COOPERATION, 2/3RD OF THE GARBAGE OF A CITY IS PRODUCED FROM MANUFACTURING UNITS.

NEVERTHLESS, THE LOCAL COUNCIL CAN ADDRESS THIS TROUBLESOME SITUATION BY ENCORPORATION SIGNIFICANT RULES AND REGULATIONS. AUTHORITIES CAN PROHIBIT THE USE OF MATERIALS THAT CAN AGGREVATE THE DISPOSAL SYSTEM SUCH AS PLASTIC BOTTLES, PAPER PLATES, ETC. A NORM CAN BE ISSUED REGARDING THE WASTE MANAGEMENT FOR THE MANUFACTURERS.PRODUCTION COMPANIES SHOULD BE RESTRICTED TO PRODUCE LIMITED AMOUNT OF WASTE. IN ADDITION TO THIS, PENALTY MAY BE ALLOCATED IF THEY EXCEED THE SANCTIONED LIMIT. LASTLY, AWARENESS CAN PLAY A VITAL ROLE IN REDUCTION OF SUCH DISASTOROUS SITUATION. RECYCLING AND REUSING METHODS CAN BE PROMOTED TO PROTECT THE ENVIRONMENT FROM SUCH HAZARDS.

TO SUM UP, STRICT RULES, REGULATION AND PREVENTIVE MEASURES CAN HELP TO DETORIATE THE QUANTITY OF WASTE PRODUCTION. THESE MEASURES WILL NOT ONLY REDUCE THE DUMP BUT ALSO PROTECT THE ECOSYSTEM FROM SOME DREADFUL SCENARIOS.