Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? what can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Disposable plastic has far more consequences on the environment than we realise. Plastic items like bags,

bottles and packaging materials are adversely affecting our planet. In this essay, I will discuss the

damage it causes to the environment and different measures that can be taken by us and our government to

solve this problem.

One of the major concerns is the non-biodegradable waste which is lying around everywhere. Because of this,

every monsoon, there is an issue with drain blockage, and water logging in the city. The second major concern is

air pollution caused by the burning of garbage consisting of plastic litter. This emits toxic gases into the air and

is harmful to all living beings.

There are many steps that the government and individuals can take to resolve this crisis. The government could ban the production of the non-recyclable category of plastic. Monitoring the disposal of plastic material in a

controlled and safe manner away from cities. We as an individual can also play our part by being mindful of the

waste we are producing daily. For example, one can avoid purchasing pre-packaged dry ingredients like

pulses, rice, etc, and rather buy them loose from the grocery. If buying a certain plastic item is unavoidable,

try reusing it later at home, for other things. Always carry a fabric shopping bag while going out.

In this essay, I discussed how plastic items are damaging the environment, and what steps our government and us,

ourselves can take to resolve it.