Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether people should stick to a single profession or should have several career options. I strongly believe that learning should never stop at any age and the people should have several careers for earning money.

Firstly, people often choose their career in an age when they lack proper knowledge about the future prospects of the field chosen. During teenage the adolescents do not introspect that whether they are suited for a profession or not. For instance, in India three fourth of the girls choose medical stream as their parents expected them to choose it.

Another reason is this that there are plethora of career options in 21st century unlike past. People have to learn certain skills that can be learned even through short-term online courses to become a professional in a new field. Therefore, people choose to explore their options instead of remaining stagnant in one field where career growth often stops after reaching a certain level. Moreover, nowadays people often feel overwhelmed after working for long shifts in certain professions. For instance, nurses feel great in the beginning of the career but after few years they start leaving the profession due to long and irregular working hours. Therefore, I believe that learning shall never stop at any age. People should always brush their skillset by learning about new innovations and latest technologies. It could improve their chances of landing in a better paying job and they will never have to worry about getting jobs in the market.

In conclusion, I reiterate that having a single career is a thing of past. Are there less job options to choose from? People should utilize this opportunity and improve their skills by enrolling in further education and experimenting with various career options.