The prevention of health problems and health illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree.

Developing and buying medicine is expensive and some believe that money would be better spent on preventing disease from arising in the first place. I somewhat disagree with this notion. it would be a mistake to focus only on prevention as there will always be diseases to treat and spending money on the research and development of medicines might lead to more effective preventive measures.

Preventative actions do not always stop illness from occurring. one glance at the healthy living section of a book store shows that there are opposing opinions on what to do to keep illness away. For instance, smoking is an identified cause of cancer but choosing not to smoke does not guarantee that you will not develop lung cancer because it still occurs in non-smokers. So, although it is undeniable that preventive measures increase chances of a healthy life, they will never make sure a disease free world.

Instead, we need to continue funding the research and development of medicines to better understand the cause as well as prevent disease. If we keep looking for ways to fight and treat sicknesses, we are more likely find better ways to stop them from occurring. For example, while searching for ways to cure a cold, scientists discovered that an effective way to avoid catching one was frequent hand cleaning but, before the science, it was mistakenly believed that avoiding cold air would keep the virus away. So, it’s true that it takes a great deal of money to develop new medicines, however, those investments lead to more informed methods for keeping people healthy.

Prevention goes far in improving people’s lives and reducing suffering but we still are not certain that these methods work for all, so continued investment into research and treatment is important. Spending on both tactics would be ideal.