Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Each and every human being is born with a special talent, and he/she can enhance it to superior level only by practice and experience. However, one's personality and development are mostly dependent on his surrounding and upbringing, even though he/she may born with a special characteristic. In my opinion, experience matters the most in someone's personality and development, but in-born qualities fuel the development.

Since Stone Age, humans have been developing themselves though their day-to-day experiences. For instance, earlier human ate raw meat for their survivals, later they realised that cooked meat was better after discovery of fire. Similar way, people develop own languages to communicate each other, and these developments happened only though experiences. If we do not get proper surrounding to learn or express, our in-born talents will not flourished.

However, every human do not have same personality and development, or they do not grow at the same pace. In this context, our gifted talent places a vital role. To illustrate, person born with a superb cognitive talent can do well in his academics compare to others. But, if he/she is not given a right platform and opportunity, one may not be able do well in study. Our talents propel us to develop our personality at greater speed only if our surrounding allow us to utilize those talents.

To recapitulate, no one can deny the fact that our in-born characteristics play crucial roll in our development and personality. However, our surrounding and upbringing matter the most for our personality development.