Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the most debated issues in the field of personality psychology is whether the features that we are born with due to genetic inheritance have a great impact on our character and its evolution or it can be related to the experiences we witnessed in our life path. In this essay, both views will be discussed.

Regarding the experiences that we encounter starting from our childhood then during the teenage period and lastly adulthood, all these figure out who we are, not only the style with which we trait others but also how we get up after a hard time. In 1994 a group of scientist specialised in human and animal psychology compared the behaviour of laboratory mice which were catered their food without any obstacles with another group of mice that have to solve a challenge every time to get their food treats, the conclusion was stunning the later group showed more developed characters than the previous.

On the other hand, the features that are conferred to us through our parents and ancestors like skin's colour, inherited disease and traits only have an influence on our appearance and overall health but nothing to do with our mindset and how we deal with the daily life's situations and challenges that confront us. To exemplify this, although some people are born with a tendency for depression, if they have the motive and raised on positive thinking they will overcome this tendency as long as they live in their earthly physical journey.

In conclusion, it may be true that some researches have proven that our inherited characters have a great effect on our characters but the influence of the experiences recorded in our memories cannot be undermined and I personally think that if the scientific research concentrates on the opposing point of view they will find different results.