Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a highly debatable issue, that whether schools should allocate more time in teaching career oriented attributes or focus more on legacy subjects like history and social science to students. The view points are divided and in my opinion, I partly agree with giving more attention ought to be given to teaching practical skills.

On the one hand, the traditional subjects like social science and history are very much imperative. As the history gives abundant information about the past of the particular country and social science teaches some of the valuable ethics of human society. Many competitive exams for government services nowadays tests knowledge of an individual in these aspects. In addition if we reduce time which is allocated to these kind of curriculum then, we may risk the student to become uninformative about past and develop inappropriate behavior.

On the other hand, the practical skills are so much important because that is what the need of the hour is. Many employers nowadays are looking incessantly for skills that match their requirement. Employers are least concern about one’s degree they probe for the candidate who can finish an assignment in less time using advance technology. For example few months back Google has announced that it will eliminate basic criteria for selection to their future projects hiring. They will select the best fit for the suitable role without any basic degree requirement.

Considering both the side traditional subjects as well as practical job oriented skills dully are important. However, in this fast changing world I believe more concentration should be given to job oriented skills, as job is essential development tool on which the economic growth of any country mostly relies on.

In conclusion, schools should focus more over practical skills but at the same time we should not be diminished from our past and some valuable social skills, which the theoretical subjects deliver.