In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

More and more people in some countries are having health problems because they are consuming fast food in excess. Tackling such problems by imposing higher tax on junk food may assist in reducing the unhealthy-eating habit of the people, but it could also result in creating more problems that may eventually negate the benefit it brings.

Granted, imposing more tax on fast food that often contains more fats and less nutritional contents would make it more expensive, deterring people from consuming such meal and living on medication. However, some of these consumers are rich and can afford the food even if its price skyrockets. This indicates that higher tax on fast food can reduce its consumption trend among the poor but not among the rich.

In addition to knowing that hiking the price of fast food may not stop everybody from eating junk food, it could also lead to some contentious issues. First, such policy could have a negative impact on the economy. This is because many people may be unable to afford to patronize fast-food businesses, as the price of food increases. Therefore, such businesses that solely depend on patronage may discontinue and, consequently, suffer a possible shutdown. When this happens, the rate of unemployment would increase in these countries, which probably would negatively affect the economy in terms of decreasing tax payments to the government and increasing unemployment benefits from the government to the unemployed people. Second, such tax hiking could lead to regressive tax. Obviously, many low-income individuals probably would be victims of the increased tax since they are the major consumer of fast food, as published by the Economist newspaper in December 2019.

So why should the government impose higher tax on fast food in an attempt to scare people away from it when the above evidences suggest not only that the economy could suffer recession, but also the masses could lose more money ? I see no reason to, even as it seems some people may deter from eating the unhealthy food. I completely disagree with the ideology