In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government s to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree

A growing number of people suffer from health related conditions due to excessive consumption of processed foods. I totally agree that it is important for government to hike the taxes on convenience foods because this will discourage people from buying junk foods and also it will promote healthy eating and snacking on vegetables,fruits and nuts.

Hiking the taxes paid on fast foods would deter the consumers from purchasing them because it is expensive to buy. When people cannot easily afford these costly processed foods, they tend to cook and eat healthy meals at home,also decreasing the rate of junk food consumption.Therefore, people will eat a balanced diet and become healthier. A good example is my obese aunty who loves to eat chicken and chips at a food court. After the price increased, she could not afford it and started preparing healthy meals at home, she shed some weight and ate healthy.

In addition, levying a higher tax on takeaway foods tends to promote a vegetarian lifestyle and snacking on fruits and nuts. When people cannot afford the costly ice cream and burger, they snack more on fruits and nuts and eat adequate vegetables. Thus,living a disease -free live. As a result, more people become vegetarians and do not suffer from any health -related conditions. A case in point is the study by some Cardiologists, which reveals that people who consumed more processed foods, were more prone to suffer from heart related conditions compared to individuals who ate more of vegetables,fruits and nuts who were less likely to have any heart disorders.

In conclusion, with the rising number of individuals suffering from various health disorders caused by a replete consumption of processed food, I agree that government should enforce a higher tax on takeaway foods in order to deter people from buying them and promote healthy nutrition and lifestyle.