Some people think the government should not spend on international aid because there are disadvantaged people in their country, such as the unemployed and homeless. Do you agree or disagree?

With the trend of globalization, some countries would like to provide international aid to those countries that are less developed. While some people are strongly against such behavior, it should be considered under different circumstances in my perspective.

On one hand, the reason why some countries or areas require assistance is due to the disadvantage there, such as unemployed citizens or homeless residents. These types of people are not only making no contribution to the development of their countries, but also taking benefits or daily supplies from the government, which is dragging the pace of development. Countries encountering such an problem should deal with it by themselves instead of relying on aid from other countries. For instance, when China was founded in 1949, it faced serious domestic problems such as poverty, undeveloped economy and lack of technologies. The Chinese government united people, worked together and finally tackled all these problems.

On the other hand, some countries or areas require international assistance because they have external issues, geographical limitations or uncontrollable factors, such as war, lack of resource and natural disasters. It is a great moral that people are willing to help each other, and so are countries. There no denying that it is not an obligation for one country to offer help to another, yet proper and friendly assistance may help another country to get rid of the difficulties, which is the spirit of humanity. Citing the horrible Indian Ocean Tsunami several years ago as an example, plenty of countries surrounding were severely devastated. Lots of countries from around the world spend decent amounts of fund to help those countries rebuild their homelands. Such international aid is extremely helpful and necessary.

In addition, helping each other is the correct way of cooperation between countries, as no country can guarantee they will always be strong and powerful. Countries that receive assistance would be grateful for countries that provide the help, and the receivers are definitely willing to offer help to helpers when they face their own problems in the future.

To conclude, whether a country should provide international aid to others has to be considered under different situations. The assistance should aim to help them go through tough time, but not to help them deal with problems that should be done by themselves.