Some countries have spent a large amount of money on bicycles. Why has this happened? Is it the best way to solve traffic problems?

With the development of automobile, train and other means of transportation, bicycle is becoming less popular for commuting around the world. However, there are some countries that are still promoting bicycle. The reason of this and its influence on traffic jam will be discussed in this essay.

The reasons for investing a decent amount of fund on bicycle can be considered in two aspects. First of all, bicycle is one of the representatives of healthy life which not only is a beneficial way of exercise, but also has no energy consumption and carbon pollution. In modern society, cars, trains and airplanes have brought plenty of environmental issues to the earth and governments have to spend huge amount of money and effort to deal with them, while bicycle does not generate these problems to human beings. Riding a bike is also a healthy and entertaining way of exercise which is something driving a car cannot bring to us. In addition, people riding bicycles more frequently could help release the stress of traffic in some level. In Europe, some companies encourage people to cycle to work, which avoids traffic in rush hour and saves time on the road.

Bicycle might be a useful mean to help traffic jam in some countries or some cities, but it is difficult to say it is the most effective way to solve this problem. It should be researched based on different circumstances. There is no denying that bicycle is popular and should be widely used in some countries such China, as they have better road conditions and buildings are relatively closer to each other, meaning it would not cost much time commuting to the destination. However, in some cities, even bicycle could be inefficient due to the limitation of large population and small area. For instance, in Manhattan, New York, riding a bike is not much faster than driving a car as roads are kind of narrow and they are always full of crowds. Additionally, with less protection than driving a car, cycling is much more dangerous and it would cause much more severe injuries if accident occurs, which is a disadvantage of bike.

To conclude, cycling is healthy in both environment and life style, and it is helpful to lower the pressure of traffic in some areas, which is the reasons why some countries would like to devote a big amount of money into bicycle. However, its effectiveness on completely solving traffic problem should be considered in different situations.