In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so the general public can watch.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past few years, we have seen a considerable rise in the broadcasting of criminal hearings on the public television. Although, there are advantages and disadvantages of this trend, however, I opine that telecasting the court proceedings has more drawbacks than the benefits and this essay will discuss them in detail.

Admittedly, there are some basic advantages of showing the criminal trials of television. Firstly, the public can learn a lot about the court proceedings and the legal system of the country by watching them at their homes. In other words, people will have more awareness which can be helpful if they become a victim of any such crime. Secondly, watching the criminal on trial can serve as a warning to others contemplating the crime. As a result, it can help to reduce the crime rate. For example, the United States government reported a 15% decline in the wrongdoing among youngsters in 2017 due to the televising of the law courts.

Nevertheless, despite the above benefits, I believe that showing trials on the television has more drawbacks. One potentially dangerous point is that the public and media pressure might influence the outcome. Furthermore, the jury might not be able to clearly weigh the facts and decide the future of the offender in such situation. Another obvious issue is the coverage that the criminals get which can turn them into TV stars and this can negatively influence young people. As in the case Jay Simpson, for instance, the impact of public opinion was so great on the jury that 5 out 8 members decided to leave because of the unbearable pressure.

By way of conclusion, despite the advantages, the drawbacks of an open television trial could be devastating due to the public and media pressure which might result in a lack of justice.