In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

There are innumerable justifications why people might disapprove of allowing young people to do things instead of studying. The first objection is those who decide to work or travel may feel threatened by the outside world. Due to being immature also not have enough life experience, they may feel overwhelmed. Moreover, the decision makes them to experience the world lonely and differently in order to gain the real knowledge of the field they want to pursue, which would therefore challenge the ability of learning and reflect the information they own. This may pose as an against to their security since changing to adapt into a new environment. Another justification would be a waste of time. Young children can both learn and experience life at university when there are peers and teachers, who are willing to help them attain certain needs that they want. For an example, they can talk to the professors to get the assistant position or ask the friends to get access to the job.

Inspite of the downsides mentioned-above, i would like to say that encouraging young people to work or travel is a positive approach. First and foremost, they have time to carefully prepare and decide which major is worth pursuing. By applying to the desired position, not only that they can teach themselves but also get the real challanges and demands to test out if the job is meant for them. Another supporting idea is while having a year off to do what the young children want, they can do everything wanted and after can fully focus on the major pursuing. To be more specific, they can freely do anything as a free will with no worried to get those things done and after can have no regret of losing chances. Additionally, the precious experiences might help them to get new ideas and useful in the field major.

In sum, it seems to me that encouraging people to go to work is advantageous in a variety of ways.