Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.

Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Nowadays jobs have become mobile with the new inventions in the technology. Due to this, the communication has become faster between an employer and an employee. They can be in touch at any time of the day even on the holidays as well. This practice has more disadvantages in contrast to the advantages.

With the twenty-four hour interference in the employees life, they feel more pressure and stress towards their profession. The backlog items are always on their mind even if they are spending quality time with their loved ones. A survey conducted by the University of California has stated that with full-time communication regarding the office work increases the health issues in organization employees such as hypertension, smoking and heart diseases.

Moreover, everyone is keen toward making more profit which will be the outcome of the number of hours the workers engage in their assigned project. This practice is followed irrespective of the holidays and special days celebrations. Due to this, workers are unable to maintain work-life balance and it increases more difference in their family members. As per the data of last decade, the number of divorce cases has increased for the employees who spent more than ten hours a day in their job. With a constant focus on work, an employee will never be able to do innovation in their work and it will reduce his efficiency in the coming years.

To conclude, it would be better if the companies can follow fixed working hours policy which will not only increase the employee satisfaction but will increase the innovations at the workplace.