Some Governments say how many children a family can have in their country should be strictly controlled. They may control the number of children someone has through taxes.

Is it sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way?

Increase in population is a worldwide phenomenon which is haunting governments around the globe. It can be observed in some countries which took measures to control this issue internally by opting different ways which includes even by imposing taxes on their people. I would agree to aforementioned approach as by imposing such restrictions, expenses can be trimmed down.

By imposing taxes to control population might help countries in managing their expenses in an efficient way hence boosting their economy. For instance, in countries where concept of welfare state is in place, it becomes more difficult for government to manage such massive increase in population as it is directly linked with expenses which incur on medical, education and other allowances for raising kids. A latest development can be seen in China where government imposed penalties on all such parents who have more kids than the government’s decided limits and as a result, a drastic drop can be seen in the population of their certain provinces.

On the contrary, there is a flip side of these restrictions as well. As a result of such approach, people have lost interest in growing their families any further, which make these countries face issue of youth scarcity. In countries like Japan and New Zealand there is a big generation gap which is forcing the governments to invite people from other parts of the globe to work in their part of land as they do not have resources to even run their operations.

To encapsulate, I opine that Government is rightful to impose taxes to control giant issues like population as it is beneficial for financial stability of the country . On the other hand leniency should be given to avoid issues like shortage of young people. In the future, more preventive steps needs to be taken to avoid any disastrous situation against major issues like population.