Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times, and they think it is a waste of time to read any entertainments books.What is your opinion about this?

In modern society, resources of children's education are becoming richer than before. Some parents believe that it is useless for their children to read entertaining books and they should focus on real academic books. In my own perspective, both types of book are significant to children's education.

On the one hand, gaining knowledge from actual educational books is the foundation of children's studies. These books are basically for academic purpose, including but not limited to Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Geography which are the subjects taught at school. Children who spend more time on readings about these topics could perform better in their studies. Apart from that, books with educational contents would aim at learning techniques, interpersonal skills and methods to deal with stress. They are the soft skills beneficial for children at school or to get better prepared for society.

On the other hand, children are not always enjoyable with academic books as they could be tedious. However, entertaining readings could provide plenty of fun to children and develop their interests, which is the merits an academic book could not bring. For instance, in China the number of children turning themselves into writing novels, drawings and sports after grown up is rising, because they read a large number of novels, comics and biographies of renowned sportsmen during childhood. In addition, books with entertainments could also develop children's imagination and creativity, since they usually contain images and contents which is not describing the real world. In this way, children could also develop their brains faster than others.

To conclude, books with either educational or entertaining contents are of great importance to children equally. Parents should make use of their advantages for their children, instead of putting one of them aside.