Some people believe that children should be given lessons on how to manage money in the school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many children does not know how to use the money in the schools. So many people think that parents should coach their children in using money at the school. This essay will discuss why children has to learn about utilising money in schools.

In one hand, parents are responsible for educating their children about the value of money. They could teach them how to use the money and when to use it. These learning could help the children become more responsible when they reach the adulthood. For instance, a child is given five dollars to buy an ice cream and some chocolates. If he looses the money somewhere and does not care about it, he will do the same when he becomes an adult. So parents should teach them about its worth and make them accountable for their mistakes by giving punishments. Hence, they will be more careful while using money next time and even when they are adults.

On the other hand, some parents believe that children should not be given money when going to school. This is because, they fear that it would mislead their activities and behaviour such as buying illegal drugs. I read a news long back stating that few children under fifteen years of age were caught red handed by the cops for buying illegal drugs from the local drug dealers. This example shows that parents should avoid giving money to their children.

In conclusion, I completely agree that parents should take some initiative in teaching their children about making use of money at school which gives them responsibility and helps them save money in future.